Sunrise at Angkor Wat and the last day exploring

21 10 2012

My alarm went off at 4:15 this morning. We were to meet our tuk tuk driver at 4:30 downstairs to make it in time for a good spot for the Angkor Wat sunrise. Our driver, Mr. Mourn was awesome and we were there early and got an amazing spot. Unfortunately, mother nature didn’t grace us with a beautiful sunrise, more of a gloomy overcast haze. Oh well, prior to realizing our disappointing news, the sky changed through various shades of red.

Oh how I’d love to show you the pictures. For some reason,  my camera randomly deleted all prior photos on my memory card. Thankfully I downloaded it the night before onto my computer, I still have no idea what happened. So sorry, I guess some sunsets just weren’t meant to be.

Afterwards, we jumped into the tuk tuk and headed off to the Bantreay Srey temple. famously known for how well-preserved it is. There were some awesome photos of us at the entrance, however they were lost in the mysterious deletion of photos from earlier as well.

We spent a good amount of time here, roaming around and admiring how intricate all of the engravings were. The rest of the morning we went to a handful of other temples before heading back to the hostel.

It was a solid last day exploring the ruins, but I was a little let down about the photos and the begging seemed to be worse today than any of the others, maybe I was just tired.  Once back, we grabbed a bite to eat and then decided to get a massage. It was my first time and I guess to make it a bit more special we choose a place who only employed people who are blind. Yep, it was an experience, haha. Not sure if it was good or bad by normal standards (because I don’t know what those are), but I guess you can’t beat $5 hour-long massage.

Tomorrow boarding a bus for 12 hours from Siem Reap to Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam!

Actions

Information

One response

21 10 2012
mike

glad you took Rachel’s advise and took your computer with you
dad

Leave a Reply

